Utah may give a break to young DUI offenders
By Robert Gehrke
The Salt Lake Tribune
"Minors who get busted for driving under the influence could get a break under a bill approved Tuesday by the Utah Senate.SB28, sponsored by Senate Majority Leader Scott Jenkins, R-Plain City, would allow underage motorists to have their license reinstated by the court after two years if the driver is under 19 years, or after six months if the driver is between 19 and 21 years old. To qualify, the offender must complete a screening and assessment program, comply with the terms of probation, and provide a sworn statement that he or she has not consumed alcohol during the suspension period. Two years ago, the Legislature enacted a law suspending an underage driver with a DUI until the offender is 21 years old. But that law has proven to be too harsh, said Jenkins, with individuals unable to drive to work or school, in some cases, for several years."
Really? How is this a good idea? So there are consequences to their stupid actions like they have a hard time getting around? Waaa. And we are going to trust them to tell us if they have consumed any alcohol. It is a big time problem to drive while intoxicated, even worse if you are underage. Therefore, the consequences should be equally big time.
I have never written a legislator, but this had me mad enough to email Scott Jenkins to tell him what I thought. I suggest you do the same firstname.lastname@example.org